top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIndigo Klabanoff

organic Holiday

Well, I try my best to eat organically and do my best to keep things Eco-friendly. However, the past few years the idea of 'wrapping paper' has overwhelmed me. There are options though! Keep reading ;)


Let me give you a fun hypothetical. Let's just say for examples sake that most households are nuclear. Every household has a mom & dad, along with a few kids, plus grandparents and aunts and uncles. So not only are you providing gifts for your immediate family, you are supplying gifts for extended family members. That coupled with how many people are in the USA? 327 million? Times two or three since we have those extended family members, and I rarely gift my mother less than 5 presents. That is a whole lot of wrapping paper. Excessive, honestly.


gif


Okay, I know that was a lot. Please skip down to the next bold section if you don't want to hear my opinion on sustainability and just want to see the goods.



gif


So, back to business. some people don't celebrate, are Jewish, or don't have the means to provide gifts. However, with my work in the non-profit sector, there are many organizations that provide clothing and toys to children in need. And those presents are wrapped.


Just sit for a minute and think about this. This isn't sustainable. Nothing we are doing now is really sustainable. I could talk about how we need to get back to the 60's where we get milk delivered, and I sure could go on and on about how I dream that someday we can incorporate bulk products in everyday life, but I digress.


Let's start small.


Let's incorporate fabric or other recycled items into our gift giving. Go to your local thrift store and grab some fabric. This can be anything from cool vintage sheets to curtains. Just choose what speaks to you. Wash it in hot water, getting all germs out, and wallah! There you go.


Then recycle them for the next year!


Here is my gift giving for 2019. I hope this inspires you to think about your carbon footprint on our beautiful world.













31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections.

-Grit & Resiliency - You can do hard things! Fear is a choice. Scroll--> I am extremely reserved about my personal life. As I reflect on this past decade (and a lot of younger people follow me) I f

bottom of page